Exercise and MG

race finish

So there does not seem to be a lot of information regarding exercise and MG. Every plan I see seems to treat MG patients as if they are invalids. Perhaps this is because of the small percentage of those who get the disorder are generally males and they are 50 or older. This means they probably are close to retirement and may not be as active. But in this day in age that is not an accurate assumption.

I work in the wellness industry and though I may be seeing a skewed view there are many healthy and active 50 years old that running, swimming, biking, skiing, and doing adventurous things. They are staying in the work force longer due to the economy and they are able to adapt to many conditions and injuries that were unheard of decades ago due to technology and medical advancements.

So then my question is why is it when I look up MG and exercise do they pretend that is nearly impossible. If it well controlled I am able to bike, teach my fitness classes (which is a combination of cardio and weight lifting, kickboxing, or pilates), and even jog. I understand that those who are unstable are a fall risk, but then this when they should be in physical therapy and finding a treatment plan (a combination of medication and therapy) that will work so that they can become stronger. Telling someone that they should do minimal exercise is ridiculous. Moreover, I understand telling people telling them to do what they think their body can handle is acceptable; however, when you are dealing with MG we are still learning what our bodies can handle and what the safe medium is. So with that note we are hoping that there are going to be professionals out there with more insight than WE have. We should not be the expert. We should be able to be the expert on how our bodies feel but not the expert on what to do with the body.

Granted I am the exception in terms of exercise because it is my profession; however, it is still out of my scope when it relates to MG and exercise, I still refer to the professionals here. I want a doctor who both specializes in MG and understands physical therapy but will not speak down to me as this my field. Is that too much to ask? I do not want to be a know it all, just a person who can stay fit, continue to get some gains, and help others who were/ are healthy and have MG find their way in this trying time. We as MGers are on a ton of medications that cause weight gain and the only way to help maintain or lose weight is to try and exercise and eat right. This also helps reduce your anxiety giving you an outlet. Exercise has been proven to reduce stress/.anxiety for up to 24 hours. I NEED this in my life. How about you?

Leave a Reply

