Pink Elephants and Heffalumps

download (2)

As I sit here typing this I am super excited and partly because I have several things to do this weekend and it’s a long holiday weekend which means a paid day off. Then there is also the seeing friends and enjoying being off early from work today because I went in early. However, there is also the fact that I’m running on fumes! I will hopefully crash soon.

This is the bad part. When I was younger and not dealing with MG this was ok. But when you have a chronic disorder that actually requires rest to improve then you are in a bit of trouble. I have always been a light sleeper and to sleep with a husband who I have deemed the WORST SLEEPER IN THE WORLD is no easy feat!

download (1)The man poses in his sleep! He talks in his sleep. He makes noises that sounds like he’s smacking in his sleep. He grinds his teeth in his sleep. He jumps up and punches pillows in his sleep. Thank God he is usually so far under my butt that he turns to the opposite direction to do this. He elbows me in the forehead because he sleeps with his arms over his face but his is on top of me, LOL. He sleeps LITERALLY with a leg in the air…IN THE AIR! His sock was half off. I’m not sure how he managed it. He was like that for about 5 minutes. He is always in some awkward position that is NOT conducive to me. He rolls all around the King size bed and he is a twig. BTW you may be laughing at the baby on in the above picture but I caught my husband sleeping in a similar position on the side of a recliner and sent it to half our friends and family 3 weeks ago. He had his knees on the floor and his face on the seat of the recliner sleep. He has no idea why, and he was at my parents house watching t.v., or it was watching his back side. And he can snore the plaster off the walls!

When staying with my parents one time during one of my recovery periods he feel asleep and they were sure that the sound they heard from 2 floors below could not have been such a “little fellow” as my dad calls him! My dad said My gosh you sleep through that? I said Nope I lay awake pondering the universe and how this is not even funny most nights! I have to fall asleep before him to get sleep because I do not I get so annoyed that I will not go to sleep for hours. Or I have to go in another room to sleep!

He is also super cold all the time and steals all the covers. I’m always hot. I decided to give him extra blankets for just him cut the air way down and it stays like this year-round (65-70 degrees). Other wise I cannot sleep.

Then there are the people outside…People who walk near our lovely home are like pink elephantsdownload and heffalumps as I called them in college. It was the first name that popped in my head when I would approached those neighbors who lived above us in the dorm about how loud they were and they would say they were not making any noise but you heard them stomping….Well the people outside are the same way. They pretend I imagine it as well. It’s like the pink bubble elephants elephants-of-parade1and the heffalumps characters that don’t exist in Dumbo and Winnie the Pooh. I hear people coming near the art galleries on Sunday morning and letting their kids run, scream, and skateboard at 8-11a and when I say something their response is we did not realize someone lived here or it was not us. It’s tough as there are only 3 suites above these lovely art spaces so it’s not an apartment complex so people do not realize or respect it as such but still why would you let your child run through ANY SPACE at that time (like shops) running, skateboarding, and screaming? If you could see where we lived you would say it did not eve looked appropriate at anytime anyway regardless of the time of day, lol. OKAY enough of my soap box speech.

The point…I need sleep I feel like a zombie on caffeine, sugar, adrenaline, and any other mood enhancing thing you can think of, yet I am on none of that. I know the crash is going to be serious when it comes. I am almost just as ready for that because I pray when it comes it will be a hard solid sleep with no interruption!

images (1)

5 comments

  1. Nena · September 4, 2015

    Wanted to stop by and let you know I nominated you for the Encouraging Thunder Award! Check it out here: http://younfolded.com/2015/09/04/encouraging-thunder-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lady CAS · September 4, 2015

    Thank you so much. I am quite flattered! I am traveling right now and will check it out as soon as I am settled and able to open my laptop.

    Like

  3. Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 7, 2015

    I understand. My hubby is anything but quiet in bed most of the time.
    I am an insomniac a good part of the time and then there are other times I sleep for hours and hours and I still wake up needing sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

