Guinea Pigs Needed… ANY TAKERS? MG and Iron Injectafer Treatments Gone Wrong

il_fullxfull.381748870_brz8

I learned a hard lesson last week. So my hemotologist did a routine check after I stabilized and I no longer have anemia. However, they decided that as a preventative measure they would give me an iron injectafer which is really a fancy way of saying IV iron. It’s a 2 step process. You come in 2 times a week apart for 1 does of iron each time via IV and the actual dose of iron given takes only 15 minutes. It should last you at least 3 months if not a lifetime if you are not losing blood anyway in large amounts which they do not think I am anymore. I have had it before when they first were stabilizing me when I was still anemic so I knew what to expect…or so I thought.

Well I did my first of the 2 Injectafers last week and then went to get my unexpected plasmapheresis treatment the next day due to me not feeling well last week because I had sinus issues and overdoing things. The treatment pulled most of the iron right out of my body because it had not really had much time to absorb. No one knew this would happen apparently. I told the nurses at the hemotology office and where I get my plasma exchange and no one gave any warnings (which they usually do if they think there is a problem). So that was kind of a waste. The waste bag of my plasma was full of the iron I just received the day before. That was some expensive ‘waste’! So for this week I learned to reschedule it for after my plasma treatments are complete and now both parties know that for a person with MG and iron treatments this will happen. I was their guinea pig.

OH WELL!

10 comments

  1. Lynz Real Cooking · September 15, 2015

    Wow, sorry that happened!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · September 15, 2015

      It’s fine! I just learned and so did they! Now future patients will have much needed information! At least I had met my deductible so that it didn’t cost me $2,500 out of pocket, LOL

      Liked by 2 people

      • Lynz Real Cooking · September 15, 2015

        that would have been awful!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · September 15, 2015

          Yea I think my positive outlook might have been a bit smeared if that were the case, LMBO! I think I would have had to wait like 2 weeks before I could see the positive in that situation and maybe a month before I could write about it without sounding negative! LOL

          Liked by 2 people

      • Nena · September 16, 2015

        Oh goodness…I think I would be besides myself, too, if I lost that amount of money over someone’s else’s oversight:(

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · September 16, 2015

          Yea I am really glad that it did not happen that way…but it could have. I mean though my insurance covers it I guess in a way I still do in way but it’s more the fact that I miss out on the benefit of actually getting the iron more than anything. I’d rather have the iron, LOL

          Liked by 1 person

  2. kerrilwilliams · September 15, 2015

    Ahhh sorry to hear that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · September 15, 2015

      It’s ok, we all learn, it could have been much worse! I just thank God it wasn’t. I definitely have had much worse happen.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

