Binge Watching and Depression…WHAT?

download

So I was eating lunch Friday before a Plasmapheresis treatment enjoying myself. I figured after all the doctor appointments this week and the shifts changes at work I was Uber tired and after my last treatment went so badly sitting for 3.5 hours and blowing 2 veins and just being frustrated with no treatment on Tuesday. I decided I was early so instead of being super early today by about 90 minutes slow down, because I was dreading this appointment since Tuesday, and breathe. So I did. I went to one of my favorite Sushi restaurants and ordered my food. I got a parking place right up front. That was a good sign. Then, I got a a seat right a the bar. Another good sign. Then was helped right away…I was liking my odds. Once my food arrived I was watching the television in front of me. It was on one of those stations like Entertainment Tonight that was talking about the EMMYS. Well this was their main discussion today since that is the big thing this weekend. However, they were still running small side stories but they were still closely related. Such as if you wanted to catch up on some of these great shows that the actors were being nominated on you could binge watch them but BE CAREFUL. They then went on the define what binge watching was; the act of watching multiple episodes of the same television show in rapid succession. They stated there was a correlation between those who binge watch television shows and depression. I was like what? They even showed what they thought was a funny skit of a couple (pictured above) sitting on the sofa binge watching and losing track of time and they were clapping at the television having just finished the series but looking distraught and confused from not moving for hours possibly days.

I think most of us binge watch to catch up on things that we could not during the normal season, or before the next season starts, at least I do. I prefer it when no one is actively watching the show to tell me what’s going on. I also binge watch because I like being able to see the next episode RIGHT THEN as opposed to having to wait until the next week, LOL. Sometimes a cliffhanger is the worst, LOL. I am sure there are people who are depressed who binge watch but I do not think that is most people that do. With the inventions of HULU and Netflix and other on demand sites that give whole seasons they have made it where people have access to whole series like books and just want to see it all at once. They would never call someone who reads a whole series at once depressed…Why would they say that about binge watcher? I binge watch Fairy Tail every chance I get because it is not available on regular television here and it is a fun show to watch. People should stop being so judgmental. Geesh!

Btw treatment went well…it was a little rocky toward the end but well in all, LOL.

23 comments

  1. JoHanna Massey · September 20, 2015

    Binge-watched Homeland series reruns while ironing yesterday. Still not sure what Carrie would do. Glad your treatment went well.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lynz Real Cooking · September 20, 2015

    Interesting and wow everyone will be depressed then! lol Glad you are doing well!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 21, 2015

    Hi there, I loved this post. I love to do a marathon of movies and TV. I like watching from beginning to end. How ever much I want to watch in one sitting. I hate waiting as well

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · September 21, 2015

      See its an enjoyable experience…Something to do to pass the time and look forward to and sometimes in my case with friends and family. Again not seeing many people who are binge watching in a truly depressed nature. I am sure we have all done it a time or to but usually that’s not why we do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 21, 2015

        I don’t watch TV when I am bored.I might if I had it on here more often. I have never really just watch TV that way. I usually am on it because I really like the show or am watching the news. I seldom do that any more.
        I just love watching something I like for a long time.
        I miss watching movies with my family and friends.
        How are you doing?
        HUGS

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · September 21, 2015

          ME too Sarah. If I get bored I don’t watch t.v. I go do something. I guess that is the mind of people who grew up in generations that played outside, LOL. We have creative minds. These kids are connected to technology and so their boredom draws them to it so in turn I guess that’s why scientist try to blame everything on it including mental illness which isn’t fair to those of us who have it and that is not the case.
          Any ways, I am great today just a bit tired. How about you?
          {HUGZ}

          Like

          • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 21, 2015

            I agree. We grew up playing outside and finding things to do. So now if we want to be on the internet all the time we have earned it. Earned it may not be the right term but I think you know what I mean.
            We still find other things to do though.
            Kids today , for the most part haven’t had any of that. They see they parents on the internet. They see people on TV on it.
            I wish parents would make there kids go outside for a good part of the day. Or have them read. Or anything to teach them .
            Then, when they do allow the computer times, they need to be AWARE of what they are doing.
            All the time.
            I can go on and on….
            I love the HUGSZ. I have a friend from Facebook who always ends her messages with HUGSZ. I need to message her.
            It has been way too long.
            HUGSZ

            Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 21, 2015

              LOL. AGREED! We must encourage more outdoor time. And yes I get your meaning about the internet. I feel like many do not feel it is a safe to send kids outside anymore as we use to play outside with our sibs alone, which is true but that may not be a bad thing with sedentary lifestyles running rapid we should get out there and play too. It takes our fun meter up too. Interact with our kids and have fun. Enjoy our world and our kids. Our youth need us and they need constant monitoring online and outside. I know what you mean about going on and on.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 21, 2015

              Parents need to play with their kids. Teach them how to play. How hard is that?

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 21, 2015

              Exactly!

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 21, 2015

              Hey, I had trouble commenting on your blog again. Today and Yesterday.
              It could be me. I have had more foggy moments.I was there and read 2 different post. Maybe 3.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 22, 2015

              That is so weird! I am not sure why that keeps happening! Surely it knows how much I love to hear from you! It’s just trying to to block our happiness lol πŸ˜‰

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 22, 2015

              Am I the only one or are others having trouble?

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 23, 2015

              You have been the only one that I know of.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 23, 2015

              That is what was so frustrating. I saw a list of comments but couldn’t access them.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 23, 2015

              Aww you felt so muted I bet, I am so sorry that happened to you!

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 23, 2015

              Yes “Muted” fits. πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · September 23, 2015

              LOL! Aww!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

