Myasthenia Gravis and Immunosuppressants Update

Types of Immunosuppressants table_Layout 1

I am excited to know that there truly are new medications that have replaced the old ones out there. I first saw it on a fellow bloggers page Laurna talks about it. My neurologist told me last Thursday that he was going to a convention where he was meeting with some of the top experts from across the country to talk about MG mainly among some other things. Of course he asked me if I had any questions and I said my usually regarding tapering off things to prepare for trying to conceive and eventually trying to come away from some medications but also asked do I need to be on some medications? I do no like the immunosuppressants because they do just that, suppress your immune system and each time cold/flu season comes; you are susceptible.

images

He said that if my cell cept was not working that he wanted to keep me on it until further research was done. I just hate the colds because once you are sick it obviously exacerbates other symptoms. Our biggest thing is to know that we can go 12 weeks without plasmapheresis right now. I currently get this every 6-8 weeks and to be able to push it out that far or longer would almost definitely mean we are ready for a baby. I have to be able to go 12 weeks without plasma exchange. Plasma exchange in the first trimester is equivalent to aborting the baby, it is safer if needed in the second and third trimester though you want to be able to go as long as possible without needing it.

images (1)

I would also like to be tapered off as many of my medications as possible during pregnancy. This would give me piece of mind for my baby’s safety regardless of any statistics they throw my way, lol. But of course I will trust whatever, my neurologists and his leading expert Dr. Howard says as they have been covering my case from day 1 and have not steered me wrong so far. Any setbacks I have had have been due to outside people who have had no idea what they were doing and not consulting with them. Boy am I excited and anxious to hear what he has to say after coming back from that conference!

2 comments

  1. Heather · October 5, 2015

    Fingers and toes crossed for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

