What Have We Learned Today Class?… Resting frowns…

tumblr_n075mxkFgT1qzcxrno1_400

Well I have learned a lot about me over the last few years and others. For example, when we go out in public we are not always aware of what we look like. I never thought about it until one of my friends brought it up. I am always in a cheery mood and everyone picks at me for it; however, just before she reunited with me after college she was actually intimidated to speak to me when she saw me in a store because I looked mean. I asked her why she would think that. I thought back to the day and there was nothing about the day that I was mad about or anything…Then someone else a few weeks later saw me and said the same thing. I had to sit and think about it. Why would I look so mean when I know that I was not having a bad day and was actually in a pretty good mood.

They saw me in two different cities at different times. I just could not figure it out at first. Then it hit me. I do NOT like shopping in Wal-Mart. It puts me in a bad mood and I have a frown on my face. I walk around with a scowl on my face and it is obvious. I mean most of us have a natural look to us that either looks pleasant, neutral, or sadly I believe the new term is the resting b*tch face or mean face but I usually look pretty pleasant and nice until I go in the dreaded WALLY WORLD. I go in with a mission; i get exactly what I need, go to the check out and get out. I don’t want to talk to anyone, I don’t want browse, I just want OUT!

Yet somehow there is always someone who does even when I don’t. The other day I was in there in the middle of the day when everyone else should be at work and a lady with a rather odd look to her still managed to steamroll her way into conversation with me in the self checkout lane. She saw my purchases in my hand (crockpot liners among other things) and was like those things are amazing. I said yes they are. Granted I had just told a co-workers about them and he was floored so I know they really are but I did not want to have this conversation right then at Wally World. I had even gone to the express grocery Wal-mart to avoid people. Yet here we were. imagesThen she began telling me how she bought them and here family from up north came and she made chili. They wanted the recipe and then she made chicken and all the other things she made. I mean she just kept going. I figured she was older and lonely and just wanted to talk. But I was just tired after my long day and wanted to go home and rest. I did not cut her off but was barely responding until I realized I was not responding at all anymore and trying to use my telepathic powers to will the lady in front of me to hurry up. She did not even notice!

When the lady in front was gone I moved as fast as I could to do my purchases thinking the lady would stop talking as she saw me trying to go but NOPE. She kept on. Then when I paid and was walking out I said politely you have a nice day. And she said the same but I don’t even think she realized I was done so quickly and I believe she was still in mid conversation. I should have felt bad, but I did not. I felt such a rush of adrenaline and relief I almost ran out of the door and to my car. It took everything in me not to so that she did not somehow follow me and continue to the conversation.

I almost screeched my tires trying to get out of the small parking lot to get home. I know I should really work on my face and try to exude more happiness in places that I would rather not be in and be more aware of that but obviously it still does not ward off everyone, LOL.

24 comments

  1. kerrilwilliams · October 12, 2015

    I have a similar problem. I HATE running into people I know when I’m not expecting it, like stores and the gym. I think it’s because I despise small talk but I hate it, especially when you keep bumping into them over and over again in every aisle! I don’t know where I get it from, my folks will chat to a lobster while waiting in queues. Not me…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lady CAS · October 12, 2015

      I don’t mind small talk but when I hate being in a certain environment I just cannot loosen up enough to enjoy it! It does not take my mind of the place…I just want OUT! Wal-Mart gives me anxiety because they are disorganized, slow, and just UGH! But they are a necessary evil sometimes because of their hours sadly by being open 24 hours 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • kerrilwilliams · October 12, 2015

        Ahhh I see, I don’t have to worry about -Wal-mart then!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · October 12, 2015

          Well I’m not big on shopping period but that store…Man I really dislike being in that store, LOL.

          Liked by 1 person

    • Heather · October 12, 2015

      I’m a lobster chatter.

      Liked by 2 people

      • kerrilwilliams · October 13, 2015

        Well then you should meet my folks, you’ll get on like a house on fire 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

          LMBO! Probably would…Just don’t catch me in Wal-Mart, you won’t like me in there I feel like the HULK. I get so much anxiety in there I feel like I could explode. LOL!

          Liked by 1 person

          • kerrilwilliams · October 13, 2015

            If ever I am in the US I will steer clear of Wal-mart. Check.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

              You see the comments! LOL. It is a huge mega store with way more than you can ever need, low prices, and then long, slow check out lines, and then they are not always in the best neighborhoods. It’s a nightmare!

              Liked by 1 person

            • kerrilwilliams · October 13, 2015

              Oh I’ve heard of wal-mart, and I’ve seen pictures of some really dodgy people at wal-mart http://www.peopleofwalmart.com/

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

              Yep that would be it! LOL. And part of the reason is because it is 24hrs and in these sketch places. Sometimes all a small city has is a wal-mart and boy as you can see wome really off and strange characters though sometimes I wonder if they are taking them during halloween sometimes because of how drastic some of these are.

              Liked by 1 person

            • kerrilwilliams · October 13, 2015

              Its HILARIOUS!!! So creepy though…

              Liked by 1 person

      • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

        lol I can be but not after such a day and in that environment…it’s something about shopping in that place…UGH

        Liked by 1 person

        • Heather · October 13, 2015

          It’s not at all like Disney even though some of the people look like animated creations.
          Don’t laugh, that was mean 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

            BWAHAHA sorry I couldn’t help it! That’s true but sometimes they can!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking · October 12, 2015

    Nice post! I like to get into the store and get out. I dont like shopping

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lady CAS · October 12, 2015

      Many people say this is called having a male’s mentality because apparently they do not like shopping as much as women but I have found many like-minded women…so what does that say? LOL

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Sarah's Attic of Treasures · October 12, 2015

    You are not alone.
    I love books stores but always hated the crowds.
    I would love to have the money to buy what I need. Yet, Do I want to to go and pick things out?No.
    It gets worse all the time.
    I never minded Walmart until Danny Took to HATING the one we go to. I will give him this. It is not in the nicest neighborhood.
    He puts me in a bad mood days before we have to go now.
    Now when I am there, I see everything through his eyes.
    Get me out of there.

    I would like the time to go through and check a few things out. Instead, I have to hurry through because no matter what Danny will show up and “Say, We need to go”. It is really hard to concentrate when he wants to leave.
    What irritates me though Is when I ask him to get HIS LUNCH MEAT and Cheese Or I send him to get anything.

    He will spend more time picking out what to have than I have time to do the whole trip….That’s a slight exaggeration but not by much.
    I have to hurry and he takes his time.
    I don’t have that option. LOL.
    By the time I get Out of there I am biting my tongue. Hard. It usually doesn’t work and I snap at him.
    Or WORSE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · October 12, 2015

      My husband can be similar when it comes to grocery shopping! I do not like grocery shopping AT ALL with him. He is like a big kid putting things in the cart not on my list killing my budget and then he already does not want to be there. Then when I ask him go get anything it takes him forever to do it when I could have done it faster without him yet I prefer his help getting the groceries because of how much energy it can take out of me. If I let him go alone he does not pay enough attention to detail not get the right things or not to blow the budget. Plus he gets so many snacks; and he manages to eat them all in a day (an exaggeration but not by much).
      Then I am home and no longer inspired to cook that day because I am too annoyed…
      He tries but I know he can do better I have confidence that he can but he just does not try hard enough…

      Like

  4. Heather · October 12, 2015

    My bf won’t enter a Walmart. I don’t think he’s been in one for years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

      Yea I can go months without going in one…I even will pay higher prices to avoid them! I just cannot stand them. I sometimes order online to avoid them if I have to and have my husband pick things up from there if I have to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

