Stomping on Eggshells and Tiptoeing on Rocks

download

So I find it funny when people who know me well still fight to find the balance of what they can say around me and what they cannot. Most of my closest friends and family understand that I fight life with humor. So they know that I joke about my conditions and issues. Some outsiders looking in may find some of the jokes to be a bit crude. Especially as many of them are from me…A psychologist may say that I am trying to beat them to the punch or covering up my vulnerability or something…The funny part is that I have a degree in psychology and that is not the case at all. I actually find humor in a lot of the dumb/ silly things I do and say because I love to make people laugh and comfortable around me.

Now I get that if you are too crude or over the top that this can have the opposite effect and that can actually make others uncomfortable. So you make people feel like dang she is overcompensating, sadistic, dark, etc…However, most of my jokes are pretty light and I try to keep them fairly sparse. The funny part is when others make a joke and take it over board. They are the ones who you then look at like well dang…

I have had people I barely know say things about MG, chronic disorders, or mental illness (without knowing I have it or am more sensitive to the issue) say really crude things right in front of me. Those are the ones that get me. They happen to be some of people quite well. So before I ever divulge anything about myself I try to ask them why they feel that way or shed a positive light on the situation to see if maybe they feel any different after giving them some education.

images (1)

Point and case:Β 

While watching the episode of #Empire last week Kelly Rowland’s character who is mentally ill was having was having a bipolar episode specifically a depressive state and it was dramatic. As I was sitting there watching the comment was made, “D*mn so bipolar just make you sit there looking crazy and sh*t like that!” After stating, “That b*tch crazy” for sitting in a trance like state with her hair disheveled ignoring her child in a unkempt. I said well actually people with bipolar have manic and depressive states and that was a depressive state and depression comes in different levels and yes it can look like that where people are almost rendered helpless and do not move and cannot move and commit to daily functions for themselves. I was a bit taken aback by the person who said it especially since they knew my biological mother and brother are both bipolar…they did not even think about the comment. But I simply kept my cool and explained it and said this is why we need to change how people see mental illness.

I cannot get mad that they did not know this. More t.v. shows need to reach our society that our generation is watching. This happens to be a good one. I just try really hard to educate everyone I run across though I know I cannot save them all!

11 comments

  1. gregdreads · October 13, 2015

    The title is psychology in it self.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

      Exactly…People can interesting creatures to me…I seriously just sit and observe some of the most interesting things sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrea · October 13, 2015

    Dear Lady, for a part of my life I have had to deal with different aspects of the disease, both physical and mental ..
    Some of my cousins ​​have suffered, they have also been for some time admitted to health facilities for the treatment of mental health, and I can say that I understand very well what do you mean.
    Of all the people who know me, no one knows that I have had these problems in the family, so they think I’m quite strange when it happens I know some people with a hardship, and I treat them like any other, just as people who have a problem, not as a people ” different “or” disabled “.
    If they have something I don’t know, I ask them please to tell me, and tell me also, if they have crisis, how can I help them; for the rest, if they have a good character (such as your πŸ˜› ) I spend my time with them very happy!
    People are superficial, and they are afraid of what they don’t know … I beg you to be patient and excuse them, mankind can be more stupid than a hen sometimes …
    I hug you, have a good day.. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

      Thank You! I am a patient person and yes I have dealt with this most of my life. I wish the stigma would go away already. But I work hard to educate people. I was diagnosed with anxiety 15 years ago knowing I had it long before that. Mental illness runs in my family. However, to see so many people so ignorant about mental illness when 1 in 5 people suffer from it. I can hardly believe how insensitive people are. There are even more people that actually suffer from it but refuse to come forward or get tested due to stigmas…It’s pretty sad. I just wonder how people can treat others so differently…{HUGZ}

      Liked by 1 person

      • Andrea · October 13, 2015

        I know, and I understand very well … It’s enough to feel crushed by so much stupidity and cold feelings, but the sad truth is that people are selfish, thinking only of herself.
        I also use every opportunity to make it clear to everyone that a mental or physical problem is not a disgrace, they should not be afraid nor ashamed!
        The biggest obstacle to overcome, more than ignorance, is the model of perfection that proposes society, so whoever is not perfect as the models that we see, for example on TV, it is not healthy and should be discarded; so, for fear of being rejected, people pretend not to see or, even worse, to ignore they have a problem, and this is very serious!
        Thank you for all your efforts, I hope that soon people will start to feel with the heart, in addition to the ears ..
        hugs

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

          Well I wanted him to actually see that what was on this t.v. show was actually a good depiction and that this was normal for once. And that he should understand that his first reaction should not be crude but to try and empathize.
          I also pray people start to feel with their hearts and use all their senses stop relying on ‘society’s cruelness’ and step up and try love as their new tactic.
          But you are right I cannot let it get to me and patience is the key. I just have to try that much harder and I am. Thank you for the support! {HUGZ}

          Liked by 1 person

          • Andrea · October 13, 2015

            I’m here at any time darling, so if you want to have a word… I’m here! πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

              Thank you! I WILL take you up on that offer sometimes, LOL! πŸ˜‰

              Liked by 1 person

            • Andrea · October 13, 2015

              You’re welcome at any time! πŸ˜€

              Liked by 1 person

  3. hilariously imperfect · October 13, 2015

    Happens everyday. The phrases “Ugh she is so bipolar” or “What a psych case” are thrown around way too often!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · October 13, 2015

      Too true. But I hate when people say things are overly rude and ignorant this was a case of that…”that b*tch is crazy” and then followed up with why is she sitting there like that let me know that the person knew nothing about mental illness…so I had to explain. Though saying someone is bipolar is not great at least they somewhat know what it means…this person had no idea what this meant…and was attacking it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

