RANT COMING IN 3…2…1… Please Be Thoughtful!

images (4)

WHY Oh WHY do people do this!?! Why do they bring their hacking, sniffling, watery eyed, sneezing, mucous infested, selves into the fitness/ WELLNESS center and get OTHERS sick! Why is this your first thought is that, “I MUST GO TO THE FITNESS/ WELLNESS CENTER AND SWEAT THIS THING OUT AND ASK THEM WHAT ELSE I MUST DO WITH NO REGARD FOR ANYONE ELSE’S HEALTH”! If you are reading this and have done this…do you think to yourself maybe you should wear a mask to prevent others from being sick? Everyone who works in said environment or works out in said environment is able to defend themselves from your nastiness! You think you caught every inch of sneeze in your elbow? Even that cough that crept up on you and got out before you could balance yourself on the elliptical before you almost fell. Then you touched the elliptical. So you know…You cannot sweat out a cold/ flu sot stop trying!

We can’t all dodge your germs, even if…IF you actually cleaned your equipment, which let’s face it most of you barely clean all the areas you touch or sneeze, cough, or sweat on! You always think this is the job of the staff, yet we cannot possibly clean it between every person that jumps on it so the next person jumps on and they have touched the areas and are infected before they even knew what hit them!

Everyone who looks healthy is not as healthy as you think contrary to what you may think! There are some like me who look amazing, Yes I said it wonderfully freaking amazing most of the year! So you would never know I have an autoimmune disorder/ neuromuscular disorder unless I told you. I have no limp, no cane, no sign that says I am sick on my forehead. I have nothing most of the year that says steer clear. However, now during the worst part of cold and flu season (Jan-Mar) I must wear a mask because people are too afraid to stay home and miss work! They fear missing a workout day will cost them the ability to sweat out the cold. However, it only weakens you more when you are sick and takes you longer to recover.

Moreover, you spread you germs to people like. You have no intention of paying my hospital bill and since I can’t take a flu shot since it puts me in the ICU (which you wouldn’t know or seem to care about) you keep doing it! People never consider others. I bet that even if we bought masks like hospitals and placed a sign that said if you have the following symptoms (that of cold/flu — listing them as hospitals do) people still wouldn’t take them!

I’m learning that people are generally inconsiderate and yet when I wear my mask, like last year the geniuses all thought I was the one that was sick for THREE months. Seriously…3 months people! No I don’t want your cooties! I know not everyone can stay at home when sick, but if you feel that serious about your workout, do it at home! My doctor actually had to a note making me wear it at work because he did not want me going to the hospital anymore as it was hindering the progress I was trying to make for my MG with some of the medications I was taking. Some medications take 2 years to work and since I kept landing in the hospital every few months we were not sure if they were working because I would get sick each time I thought I was getting stronger or better. Everyone was getting frustrated!

Or if sweating it out is your goal get in hot bath, take a nap cap and get under some blankets, go for a run outside with trash bags on for all I care (it gets cold in these months! I don’t mean that last part, but you get the point….One should think twice before going into a fitness/WELLNESS establishment where others are trying to get fit and stay WELL and get them all sick because you are being selfish! It’s not fair. Moreover, in my facility all members get 1 free PT per MONTH! Let me create you a workout for the week you will be out…PLEASE. Just email me. I will give you one that’s fun and you can do with the equipment or body weight at home. JUST DON’T COME IN HERE!

I am not saying this to be selfish either (though yes I would prefer to to be sick EVER)… I have been privy to people’s private files here and I am not the only person here who could benefit not getting your germs. Though everyone would prefer it, some of us are more susceptible than others and therefore are in more danger than others from your actions. Please think twice and if you think twice and still come, don’t be surprised when I come nowhere near you, put on a mask, or state nicely I would rather not be to close to you (all while thinking jackass).

images (3)

2 comments

  1. insanitybytes22 · November 10, 2015

    Ha! I share your rant. Well said.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · November 10, 2015

      Thanks, lol. At least this time I added in some well placed links for people to click, LOL. That way I’m at least educating them while I fuss them out but I doubt they will notice, BWHAHAHA! I just had to though intentional ignorance is a pet peeve of mine!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

