The Insanity Continues…Infinite Measures Taken

images.jpg

The universe may be out to get me after recent blogs. I think I may have spilled some recent secrets I was not supposed to divulge. I do not know how or when but it happened! This morning it my early morning the morning I love and hate. It’s the morning I have to get up at 4am and open my facility. I both love and hate it because I love the early shift but I fear the anxiety that comes with me being late to work because of my nearly 2 decades worth of sleeping issues centered around insomnia. SO I usually wake up a million times to check my alarm or the clock to ensure I ave not over slept.

However, in the recent months it has not been so bad since I have to get up every 4 hours to take medication so I wake up anyway at midnight and 4am anyway every night. So now I almost wake no matter what around these time without the alarm just before it goes off. Even when I have just had treatment and do not need the meds I still wake up and then just dose back off or turn the alarm off.

But this morning I got up because it was time to get up. I got up, prepared my lunch from the crockpot that was going all night…YUMMERS. Then got dressed. Normal so far. Then reminded myself that I needed to leave about 10 minutes earlier than usual since my stupid window doesn’t go down and I need to defrost my car lately and I need to be prepared for whatever weather since I have not been watching it in the morning lately and it has been catching me off guard.

SO I was ready to scrape ice, defrost, or simply wipe my side mirrors if needed this morning…THAT WAS ALL!

I was not ready for the the HELLEVATOR…much like the game show I watched the night before…now the red flag should have been the night before when I noticed that the elevator did not open when I tried to get on. SO I had to walk up to my floor. It is not a biggie since I live on the second floor, but it can be when you are trying to reserve energy and have MG. Some days at the end of the day my legs are quite over worked and feel quite done for. It is all I can do to LITERALLY pull them into bed with my hand and arms people.

Then watching the game show hellevator should have been another omen because I never watch this show because I am usually watching something else during this time. But I ignored all this.

I pushed the elevator button and watched the elevator door open way slower than normal and AGAIN I saw the sign that I should probably not get on. Even after looking at my car and thinking earlier while locking the door I should probably walk down the stairs because the elevator probably isn’t working, LOL.

Nope did it anyway…Got to the first floor and the door started to open slowly and STOPPED! My heart stopped! Not because I am claustophobic, but because I couldn’t believe it. I started to pry the door. But I did not have enough strength.

download.jpg

Then I hit the button and held it. Nothing. Then I called my coworker to see if he could open my facility. It rang and went to voicemail. I left a message sounding a bit panicked. My boss’s went straight to voicemail and the same reaction. I then texted them both. Again, my priorities are a bit skewed I am sure. I guess I should be worried about such things but I am not. I would have been more worried if I had to go to the bathroom but at the time I did not have to. I had my lunch and water. So I was good. Then I called my husband to tell him what was going on before using the elevator phone to call 911.

download (1).jpg

Sadly they did not seem surprised about this particular elevator. This did not make me feel any better but it did not scare me. They told me the fire department was on the way and asked if I felt okay if they hung up and I said sure.

The funny part was that at this point I had already been in the elevator about 10 minutes then. The whole time the elevator kept taunting me by trying to open itself but never doing it. Then my husband came out and pushed the upstairs button and it eventually went back upstairs and the door up there opened again very slowly and I felt like I was coming out of a dark cave despite having complete lighting the whole time. It was so weird. Mind you I walked into a darker situation outside since it was only 5am. This all happened at the exact moment the fire department arrived and they saw me coming out of the elevator. We told them what happened as they saw me coming out and looked me over visually and checked the elevator and taped it off and called management.

On my way to work, because yes I was wide awake with adrenaline and still had to go…I was like no one is going to believe me when I am late. Luckily, I was still on time though later than my ‘on time’ which is usually 15 minutes early. The facility opens at 5:30a and I usually get there between 5:10a and 5:15a so to get there at 5:27a was late for me and I found myself apologizing though it was not really necessary. I just have a standard. Moreover, my gas light came on not even 2 or 3 miles down the road and I hit almost every red light on the way there. I doubt the 1 person that was there that I had to apologize to believed me because my poor coworker was had a close call yesterday and I was just on time so it would seem out of the ordinary to still be on time but oh well. I am still shocked I made it on time.

When you are such a high level person in a company as he is and gets as many wild stories and excuses as I am sure he has over the years he is probably immune to everything, lol. But for me it an amazing morning and I have a crazy story to tell for years to come and an experience/ statistic to share among a special group of people, lol. But I think now…at least as long as I can stand it for a while on those early mornings I will try to take the stairs so I am not late. Again…not a fear because I will still take the elevator to reserve my strength but going down stairs is easier than up and being late gives me more anxiety than being sick…Yes I know…my priorities are a bit off…just a bit!

images.jpg

9 comments

  1. Cooking For The Time Challenged · December 10, 2015

    That was quite an adventure! Glad you are safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · December 10, 2015

      Thank you, I felt like it was too. It was cool to say it happened…now let’s hope it never does again, LOL πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking · December 10, 2015

    Wow what a morning, glad it turned out ok and you are fine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

