I Will Not Make a Resolution for New Years!

download.jpg

As everyone else states how they will make this year so different from the last and make it better than the last, it should be a given! But is should not be something that you state at the beginning of the New Year. I feel that it should be a statement at the beginning of each new day. That each day should be better than the last and not to make some ridiculous statement of how the WHOLE next year will be better than the last because you are going to try some trendy new thing or some idea that you are not likely to follow through with.

Now if you manage to follow through with it, kudos, but the idea is that if it took you a NEW YEAR to do it, well, I’ll bet it was several bad days just before that end of that last year that drove you over board and careful planning before hand. You did not just decide like many resolutioners that you were just going to do something with a blind lust and walah (or should I say BUST) it was thought up and did not happen.

I created a nice bucket list in 3rd quarter of last year and plan to do one every year from hear on out to do more activities and such each year. I have become to stagnant in both my thinking and life. This is not a person I ever thought myself to be and not a person I will be. So I changed it. So far I conquering this list pretty well. I even have had help from others.

My point, planning is key. If you want to make a true new years resolution, fine, but you likely did not make the resolution at new years. You said that was when it would start and planned it long before then. If you did, then you still need to plan and organize it to make it successful. For example, people who are quitting something addictive or trying to lose weight. These are linked to behavioral things and you need to change both your behavior/ lifestyle but also get a support system. This involves who you hang around, and what to do if you slip (relapse) so that you are able to get back on the horse and keep going because these things happen. A plan needs to be made in advance. You may say how do you plan for what you cannot foresee, but you know you may get sick, or could be pressured by a friend, or go on vacation, or plain lose willpower, forget, etc…what is your plan to get back into the swing of your resolution before it is too late? Before it is next year and you are saying those same words again?

I do not make resolutions I make plans, what will you be doing! Make S.M.A.R.T. goals instead!

5 comments

  1. OrganicIsBeautiful · January 2, 2016

    The title got me curious! Agree with you all the way through 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · January 2, 2016

      Thanks, I just feel that sometimes we have to break with the trends and become more realistic with ourselves. I mean really how many times have we made those resolutions and kept them…not to mention several years from now can you even remember what they were? And let’s admit how many gadgets we bought to help us with these goals that are collecting dust because we did not really think it out, LOL.We all must do better so I did!

      Like

  2. Kally · January 3, 2016

    Life Is A Journey,
    But My Best Wishes Are The Milestones
    That Will Give You Hope
    And Motivation To Move On.
    Am Wishing You A Joyous New Year!
    With warmth, love and blessings from MiddleMe to you and your readers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

