Acceptable Adult Stimming

I love posts like these! Please enjoy and check out the original blogger’s post!

Anonymously Autistic

As a child, I remember doing a lot of spinning, rocking, foot tapping, and verbal stimming. There were probably other stims that I had as a child, but these are the ones that stick out the most. In adulthood most of these behaviors have dissolved or evolved into more “socially acceptable behaviors”.

These behaviors were often pointed out as “wired” by my peers and punished by my teachers.

Over the years I have evolved and so have my stims. Below are some stims that I have now as an adult.

  • I tap or rock my foot under my desk. The movement is hidden so people do not notice it.
  • I sit on my feet and legs applying deep pressure (often until my legs are asleep and my ankles are bruised).
  • I wiggle my tongue, bite and chew on he inside of my mouth, and scratch at my face.
  • I play…

View original post 153 more words

2 comments

  1. bosskely · January 30, 2016

    hi there! Thanks for following my old blog! I’ve moved and please feel free to follow me there! I do both depending on the topics:

    http://www.mindofduty.wordpress.com

    http://www.bosskely.wordpress.com

    Happy new Year!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · January 30, 2016

      You are most welcome I’m on it and following! Happy New Year to you as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

