Insomnia Strangeness

images.jpg

So though having insomnia for me is pretty common there are some strange things that have been happen lately that make even harder to sleep. When you have MG this is not a good thing as sleep/ rest is about the only regular thing that can help restart your system aside from treatments.

As I try to drift off to sleep I usually feel pretty great. I have read my book and say ok that’s enough for the night and have to force my brain off. If I read a good book sometimes I find that I am still creating a story in my head as I fall asleep and that’s sort of fun. I blur the lines between reality and fantasy and that is ok as I am lying bed.

However, lately just as I have gotten comfortable I have my body has begun to fight me. First starts the dry rattling coughs that become hard mucus filled coughs that racking my entire body. Once they pass I am happy. I am only happy once they are effective. I am tired of this cold. I hate the dry cough and only want a productive cough. The funny part is that I mainly cough more at night at rest than during the day. And of course ore while lying or partially lying down than sitting up. So I have modified the way I sleep for this because it is tough and I need to be able to breath and sleep. I mean the worst part of2 nights I woke up with my lips so chapped from being a mouth breather (b/c I never am) that I had to find chapstick in the night to put on. I only use chapstick a handful of times a year. I literally had to search for it.

Second comes the itching of the hives the I swear I planned for ahead of time by taking the benadryl to both make me sleepy and ward of the itch. I take it well in advance while reading so that I can slowly fall into the rabbit hole, LOL. Then as I get so sleepy that the words stop making sense and I have to read a paragraph so many times just to comprehend it knowing it’s time to turn in I put it down. SO WHY, WHY do they begin to itch uncontrollably like I never took the durn pills not even an hour before and it’s not time for another dose yet. I even put anti-itch cream on.

Then after I slowly take my mind off this and try to think more on the the book I read or something else I because now my body just wants to be a nuisance, the cramps set in. My legs and upper back scream at me. They cramp and hold tight and won’t let go. My feet, my calves, and rhomboids, and traps are seizing up on me and I’m contorting in horrible ways to prevent an all out lock-up. I know it’s likely because of the new fluid pill and he told me it could be a side effect but from all the fluids I chug daily what the heck man.

I know I have to go back and be put on a potassium supplement now or I shall surely be mummified from these episodes. The neurologist already said the fluid pill dropped my potassium levels and this could happen but now I know and now I must do something about it. All the bananas, potatoes, and OJ in the world are not helping, lol. My husband will find me stuck in some odd pose unable to move forever barely able to speak soon if this is not rectified, lol.

When I finally do fall asleep I wake up every 4 hours only to take more meds for MG and the benadryl for the hives and cough meds for the cold. My husband has been sleeping in another room all this time and he checks in on me only to feel helpless. I can only imagine what is going through his head. He’s probably stuck between poor poor little girl and STAY BACK CATAGION 1 RED ALERT!

Leave a Reply

