Made from Scratch Meatball & Spaghetti

20160130_202203

I was so inspired to make this dish after making made from scratch salisbury steak last week after an accidental discovery. While making my made from scratch salisbury steaks I made one entirely too small and said to myself, “well this will be the tester/ taster, to see how things turn out.”

The recipe called for making the salisbury steaks with hamburger and then adding breadcrumbs and eggs to bind them as well as your own mix of dry ingredients (dry onion soup) and so on. I instead used my food processor and pureed some onions and made my own dry ingredients to taste with a bit of cumin, seasoning salt, garlic powder, parsley, oregano, chili powder, and about 2 ounces of homemade cream of mushroom soup in the mixture not on top because we like the flavor. However, you can omit the cream of mushroom altogether if you like.

I browned the meatballs for 2 minutes on each side in a skillet and the put them in my crock-pot for high for 1.5 hours with a bit spaghetti sauce. I did not cover them in sauce it was just enough to cover the bottom of the crock-pot. Make they are also in one layer if possible.

I’m going to give you the “book recipe” to follow but as you can see from above I did my own changes and I made mine from scratch because I had the time and inspiration. You can do it so much easier this way though and I have, and it works really well too!

Easy Salisbury Steak—Which I converted to meatballs (just do not use the cream of mushroom soup)

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs ground beef

1 egg

1/2 cup plain dry bread crumbs ( but Italian works best for flavor)

1 package (about 1 ounce) onion soup mix*

1 can (10 1/2 ounces) golden mushroom soup, undiluted

you may pulse onion soup mix in a small food processor or coffee grinder for a finer grind , if desired.

  1. Coat inside of crock-pot slow with nonstick cooking spray (or buy crock-pot liners). Combine beef, egg, bread crumbs and dry onion soup mix in large bowl. Form mixture evenly into four 1-inch thick patties.
  2. Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add patties; cook 2 minutes per side until lightly browned. Remove to crock-pot, in single layer. Spread mushroom soup evenly over patties. Cover; cook on low 3-3.5 hours.

Makes 4 servings

My husband and I had a ball making these and now he knows how to make meatballs and not just brown hamburger. We are becoming quite the little chefs. These are things I want him to learn because they are fun activities that can be done with children when we finally have some.

3 comments

  1. thebaraaq · January 31, 2016

    Those look delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · January 31, 2016

      Thank you, it was, and so much fun to make.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thebaraaq · January 31, 2016

        I’m glad you enjoyed your time making it too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

