Spoon Theory

I use to refer to my energy as a bucket but this helps break down what it is like to have a chronic illness if you want to really know how a sick person feels everyday and swap places with them!!! Could you really live like we do? Would you have any ‘spoons’ left today?

I Do & Adieu

When Lady Cas mentioned the other day that were having a hard time explaining the tired feeling we feel to healthy people I asked her if she tried using the Spoon Theory to explain it. She hadn’t heard of it. I hadn’t heard of it either until about a year after my diagnosis. I wish this was something that was told more often because it really helps explain our situation to people.

800px-Apostle_spoons_six “Apostle spoons six” by Lady Alys- Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Apostle_spoons_six.jpg#/media/File:Apostle_spoons_six.jpg

The Spoon Theory

My best friend and I were in the diner, talking. As usual, it was very late and we were eating French fries with gravy. Like normal girls our age, we spent a lot of time in the diner while in college, and most of the time we spent talking about boys, music or trivial things, that seemed very…

View original post 2,055 more words

2 comments

  1. kmcintyremt · February 8, 2016

    I really love the Spoon Theory. I think it provides something concrete for people to latch onto when trying to understand an illness they may not see or understand.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

