When Life Gives You Lemons You Make Lemon Trees

lemon-852244_640.jpg

So I am a big proponent of optimism. No I am not the overly bubbly person that is in your face pointing out every single small happy rainbow in every puddle of water, but when you are having an exceptionally no good very bad day, I like to be your ray of sunshine and make you smile at some point (at least after you have had your chance to vent). I understand how important it is to stay positive which is why I am the way I am.

When you give in to despair, your whole body follows. You start to feel like what you allow yourself to think. If you feel hopeless your body begins to sag with hopelessness and refuses to pull itself together to help keep you rejuvenated. It does not fight as hard to ward of bacteria, viruses, or the random nuisance walking down the street who has been asking you out for weeks…you just cave in despite every red flag that used to go off in your head (because now those defenses are broken).

I say it is okay to be down, sad, grieve, or even have a pity party. But do not dwell in it. DO not stay there. You must get back up and push forward. If you having a bad time find the good in that moment or in another moment and reflect on it. Hold that strength and let it give you the power to move toward better moments and encourage someone else.

When I feel grumpy I have to think about why I feel that way and immediately try to snap out of it and then try to find someone else to encourage because it makes me feel good to give someone else hope and love. I was rather crabby this morning for no particular reason than my normal routine just being disturbed (as I think about it in hindsight) and when I thought about it and realized I was actually in a rotten mood, I said I must change this. I instantly started greeting people, smiling, and putting my mind to tasks that made me focus on getting my day accomplished in a efficient manner (because yes, this quenches this nerd’s appetite for calmness)!

I always thought to myself that that saying about making lemonade from lemons does not work from me…yeah I could do that…But from lemons I could make a lemon tree and give myself so much more; shade, wood/ shelter, paper, more lemons and of course I could make lemonade if I dared along with countless other things! So no I do not just accept just making lemonade I want your happiness to be bigger than lemonade I want you to make a lemon tree!

2 comments

  1. silverlining · February 16, 2016

    That’s no nice that you are such a positive, sweet person and that you try your best to make everyone around you feel happy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · February 16, 2016

      Thank you! It gives me a sense of accomplishment and that lovely warm fuzzy feeling to know I helped someone, especially when it’s through a non physical way (mental or emotional). We tend to need this more than monetary or physically doing something. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

