Creating Book Characters and Research

So I am learning that when creating characters, you really have to know how big a role you want your characters to play to decide how in depth you go with them. If you want the character to be a main character, when then you need to give them a full name (at least a first and last name) and a full description both in personality and physical nature. You also need to be able to give them a bit of background work and/or context as to what you want to readers to know that is important about them that will help readers know why they are so important or why they should care so much about. How will they become invested.

Are you going to give a bit of background information about how they grew up before you begin the meat and potatoes? Then with your minor characters, how will you present them, will they be given any background? Some may need just a bit some will not. If they show up enough, they will definitely need some sort of background at some point, but maybe not right away or sometimes even in that book they could have a spin off (I have seen this done and it’s pretty cool). Sista Souljah did it with Winter’s younger sister (Porsche) who was not as major a character.

download (2).jpg  download (3).jpg

Then you have to make sure the time lines match up. This has always been tricky for me when writing on my own but now with this software I can stay on top of it because it shows it to me in both the character sections, the events, and the the whole book. I feel pretty confident about keeping my dates and events in order while making a these characters and what they do especially as I plan on moving forward to create a series/ spin offs based on the main characters.

More so, I am doing a great amount of research looking at the formats of books I have enjoyed. I am researching the content that must go into my book. Every author researches certain facts that they put into their books or events. They make sure that destinations exist or do not, they ensure information is not copied so they are not plagiarizing, they research names/ places so they can state they mean what they believe them to mean (unless they are making it up), or that information is accurate before posting it in their books. This can take a great deal of time. BELIEVE ME!

download (6).jpg

I almost feel like I am in school again with all the research, but it feels good when it gives way to a few paragraphs or pages of new material of written work. I can triumph in knowing that I ave something solid and I hold on to that reference with my dear life just like when I was in school and post it in my writeitnow 5 software so if it’s needed later for me or the editor I have it.  They won’t catch me slipping.

download (5).jpg

20 comments

  1. pixieannie · April 7, 2016

    I do make notes, in different colours and find this helps. Above all else though, I have a great coach and am not afraid of negative feedback. Like everything else, I do daily writing exercises…these form the backbone to all of my other writing…use it or lose it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lady CAS · April 7, 2016

      I did daily writing for about 6 months but not with any particular prompts. Moreover, the writing in different color notes is tough because of struggle with color blindless but I do use the colors I can see boldly and highlight my notes in my software with that and my characters have a color so that anytime anything dealing with them appears their color appears so I know I am not confusing my characters and their events in the book.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pixieannie · April 7, 2016

        Perhaps then, you could write with some prompts, I have many ideas but bare in mind that I am not experienced and have only been doing this for a few months. I will happily give you some little exercises to challenge yourself and they don’t have to be done daily.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady CAS · April 7, 2016

          That would be great! I do not mind a challenge especially if it will help me grow creatively

          Liked by 1 person

          • pixieannie · April 7, 2016

            Ok, what about a little exercise. You are in the waiting room at the doctor’s surgery when the guy sitting next to you, collapses on the floor. Everyone else in the room stands and stares, all the doctors are busy with emergencies…over to you. Aim to keep the dialogue flowing with good exposition. Ensure you show the reader, rather than tell them. No timescale on this, just see how it goes. Good luck and I look forward to reading.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

              Man, sadly reading this I actually started trying to fix the problem than make a story…I’m first responder in real life, LOL. Can we try another one, I feel I may get too technical and weird on this and less creative…Idk I feel I may be too boring…Don’t get me wrong I will try but be warned LMBO

              Liked by 1 person

            • pixieannie · April 8, 2016

              This is all the more reason to stick with the story. Get your character sorted and you’ll be fine. You could make this quite humorous if you wanted. It’s up to you of course. I was a FR for a number of years.

              I’ll help you out a little. You are a 25 year old guy. You’re listening to some shitty tunes and ignoring everyone around you. The last thing you want to do is get down on your knees. You don’t need loads of detail. You’re in the waiting room with your girlfriend who thinks she’s pregnant.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

              I gonna go for gold on this one, LOL and make a short scene for ya like you said 1000 words or less and just see what I can do

              Liked by 1 person

            • pixieannie · April 8, 2016

              You are a star. It’s good to push yourself like this. Think of it as a dialogue. Set the scene. Is the waiting room busy? What of the other patients? You’re listening to music while your girlfriend sits nervously biting her nails. You can do it.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

              I have done it…there isn’t much dialogue I am afraid… think failed that…I forgot that part but I will let you see it :/

              Liked by 1 person

            • pixieannie · April 8, 2016

              Well done. In these exercises, dialogue will be what keeps it moving forward and allows you to keep the reader interested. Perhaps you can practice this with your friend.

              Liked by 2 people

            • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

              I will thank you. I am working on dialouges I am just realizing this is a weakness on how to put them into a book. I know how to ‘say them’ but not how to actually put them in a book correctly so i’m doing a lot of research on this. I notice a lot more books are moving towards a chapter narrated from one characters view and the next from another character’s view…maybe this is because of this issue…but I do not want to lose the art of dialogue altogether I need to learn it before moving to such a modality.

              Liked by 1 person

            • pixieannie · April 8, 2016

              Ok. Don’t get trampled down by the technicalities. Just try your best. There are plenty of us here to advise and guide you. The POV or point of view, differs, depending on many factors. You can practice writing in the first person and third person. You can do it.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

              Thank you! I will try that

              Like

    • Nena · April 7, 2016

      Writing daily or on a very regular basis really helps! So true.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

        Well I am working on getting back to just that and thankful to all the wonderful feedback from all of you amazing people! It has truly been overwhelmingly positive (obviously in a good way) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mon ☠ · April 7, 2016

    Oh o I don’t want to go back to school again
    .

    And I am in school

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · April 8, 2016

      I just got out last year in may, lol I can’t go back NOOOOO lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

