My Parents Announce Their Children

I’m proud to say that my parents have no problem saying who their kids are! Some parents would shrink from their responsibilities as parents when they find they have to bend and blend with biological parents and children who have mental disorders. Then to top it all off add some drug addiction, criminal charges, and grand mistakes and behalf of all parties except the adopted parents and I can’t even understand how they did not crumble and run away screaming. Yet, every time someone asks how many kids they have, they always say 4 proudly.

Yes, one is in prison and by a mistake of his own. They have learned not to blame themselves finally. They have learned that he had decisions to make on his own. God gave him options to make as well. He was afforded all the same opportunities as the rest of us and they took special care with him as they did with me as he and I were not their birth children but their gifts to add to the two they did birth as my parents like to say. They did everything they knew to do for him and more and still do. I am proud of them for that. They still love him and him them.

I know that as much of a pain he may caused with the trouble he has gotten himself in, they still have some good times and laughs to look back on. I just think of his crooked smile and it makes me smile. My parents always included us the same as their birth children and we saw absolutely no difference. We call them mom and dad, brother, and sister. We enjoy it and know nothing else. My brother and sister (who are actually my cousins) treated us like the younger siblings, LOL. Yes, master…anything you say master! We were also their guinea pigs for many things…food projects, games, clothes, and so on. I remember my brother making some weird eggplant dish in high school and I had to eat some…yea still haven’t eaten eggplant since (just cannot).

My parents knew they would not hurt us though and we did too. As much as they grumbled about having to babysit and watch us like any teenager, they never let anyone else harm us. They always made sure we ate and were somewhat comfortable (even if that meant under someone else).

My parents are awesome! They acknowledge my biological parents.They understand the relationship that I needed to have with them. They accepted all the craziness that came with our lives and I commend them.It was never easy and they never thought it would be. They shed tears, prayed, shed more tears, laughed, and loved. They laugh and love as much as they can because it is the key to our life. I just cannot imagine my life without them in some form and I will be taking oodles of video of these people soon. I need to have it so it can be my ‘forever!’

4 comments

  1. ravenhawks magazine · May 5, 2016

    Beautiful Post and a lovely tribute to your parents

    Liked by 2 people

  2. JoHanna Massey · May 11, 2016

    This is such a heart warming post for me. Blessings to you and your dear parents who always speak up and say 4! 📮

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · May 12, 2016

      Aww shucks, lol thx! They are my safe place and I love them for it! They could easily say they have 2 or 3 kids but they claim us all faults and all!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

