MG Enhances My Inner Artist

images

So let me start by saying I have always been an artist and loving art but I had lost the ability to see it for so long due to technology, being too busy, and well excuses, lol. I could find art in anything once. I won’t say I am a photographer or anything like that but I definitely have an eye for a great shot. I also enjoy some amazing new crafts to do and find some of the best local art hangouts. I just enjoy art. Over the years I shied away from art because I had immature friends that were more into other things and found the things I did too be too boring, time consuming, and nerdy. I enjoyed what they did too but no one ever wanted to do what I did. I needed new friends. Some of my friends stuck with me me because as you know in college these are phases we go through, and some you leave behind, lol.

Then I began working a full-time job and trying to become a adult and do adult things and did not think that somehow this fit into my world. I was trying to hard to be overly sophisticated. Though I enjoy that too at times, it was not me ALL the time. I started checking out Groupon deals and started stumbling across wine and design type classes, cooking courses, crocheting, and exhibits to museums. I was excited. I also remembered that we have an amazing number of free art museums including a newly renovated one. I immediately snatched up my (at the time boyfriend…now husband) and it was one of our first dates. We enjoyed ourselves. It was something we had in common. It was relaxing to both of our souls and we both actually knew intellectual things about eras in the museum which gave us things to talk about…that can be rare young guys (so much more to be interested in, LOL.

But then we got lost again…we became too busy again with our lives…

Then 2 years ago I was diagnosed with MG. I was devastated. I just was not sure I could deal. Then it happened. ART. I was finding my music. It was soothing me again. It was like art was everywhere again. It was helping me build strength slowly in my fine motor movements by doing bulky knit crotchet. It was there to help me with large stroke painting with my abstract Van Gogh of Starry Night (my favorite painter and painting). 10991267_10102360412107233_6655557286988999917_nIt was in my interest in touring architecture of old buildings like the Biltmore Estate which I had been to before but seeing it through my Husband’s loving eyes and face who had never seen it and loves landscaping and architecture. It was in the flower projects in the highways were they put sunflowers near the exits ramps. It was in the street festivals that are near my house nearly every week in the summer. I was alive again!

I live in the art district and if it was not for MG forcing us to have to move from our old apartment for me to have an elevator I would never live in what my city calls the Art District. I call it Art Nirvana. It’s my haven. There are sculptures all over the city and crazy murals and oddities everywhere. There are brick sculptures in various locations not just metal ones too. They are so cool, they remind me of the terracotta ones in China.

nc-brick-sculptor-brad-spencer-IMG_9440

This inner artist is burning very bright now and I hope that the fire never dies again! I am enjoying all that she has been craving and has to offer!

8 comments

  1. Lynz Real Cooking · September 1, 2015

    I am glad you are back to art! Love the painting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah's Attic of Treasures · September 1, 2015

    I am also glad you found your way back to the one things that inspires you. HUGS

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Afrika Bohemian · September 2, 2015

    This is inspirational I am glad you have found your love again…I love art too although I am not an artist, I envy you and the art district…love and light

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lady CAS · September 2, 2015

      Your art shines through in how you portray your people and the pictures you take. You are an artist, you just may not paint, lol. Art and artistry comes in different forms and expression.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Afrika Bohemian · September 2, 2015

        Thanks so much, I am humbled

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Angie Mc · September 2, 2015

    So happy for you! I also appreciate art (more so than being an artist myself) and our family is considering a move. We’ve talked about being in a neighborhood where you can be inspired. Sounds like you have found such a spot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady CAS · September 3, 2015

      I have and it is so cool! I was not intentional. Even once I moved there I did not know this until after the move was final. The perks keep pouring out of this place the longer I live here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment